The Hall Light Gets an LED Upgrade

I recently swapped out the 100 watt incandescent bulb in our hallway and replaced it with a 6.5 watt LED bulb.  Why the Hall light?  My daughter has developed a new trick in delaying her bedtime, she yells, “I’m scared of the dark, Daddy!”  You’ve seen this play if you have kids.  

I’ve been leaving the hall light on all night to assuage my daughter’s fears, but after learning the cost of a bulb over a year’s time, I decided to switch to the energy efficient LED light.

The photo above shows the before and after of the installation.   The incandescent fixture on the left burns with a familiar warm glow, while the LED on the right, has a slightly colder glow.  I used a 6.5 watt bulb from  Feit Electric, but it was a poor choice for my application.  See if you can spot why, in the picture below.

Did you see it?  The reason this bulb isn’t the right choice for this application lies in the metal fins around the base of the bulb.  This is a heatsink which draws heat to the outside surface and away from sensitive electronics.  The heatsink blocks the rear firing light.  A traditional bulb is glass down the entire shaft of its body and thus light shines through the entire bulb.  The negative effect of this design in my installation can be seen in the top photo where the left side of the LED fixture isn’t illuminated as much as the right side.  Again, this was my fault because I purchased a bulb that was meant for spot light applications and not omni-directional illumination.

The specifications of the bulb that I used are below, as are some links to other bulbs by the same manufacturer.

  • 6.5 watt
  • 340 Lumens
  • Replaces a 40 watt incandescent
  • Lasts up to 30,000 hours
  • Temperature (not heat):  30000K which means the color is soft white
  • Designed for spot light applications


Leave a Reply

